The last day of starting over


Some JJ in honor of girls weekend in KC!

To describe all the details of my life over the year would be lengthy. So much has occurred that it’s hard comprehend 2012 is over half over. I don’t even keep track of days anymore. I stay busy, make appointments, make lists.

I saw a quote last week – “you don’t know how much strength you have until that’s all you have.” Between everything that has happened the last six months and seeing what so many of my friends are going through (by the way, when did we all become so effed up?!), I see life a much more differently. Another relevant quote retold to me as said by a 92 year-old, “the older I get the less I know.” I feel like I just gained 40 years.

The best part is that i learned that when bad things happen, life goes on. Even when there is so much going against you, life keeps moving forward. The worst thing you can does not move with it. Life is an extremely positive experience – I truly believe that everyone has a good soul and naturally tries to help other people, and that God does have a plan for everyone in every situation. Just close your eyes and don’t stop moving.

I’ve been dealing with a lot especially in the last month. So much so I had to make a ‘life to-do’ list prioritized by importance and deadline. I set an alarm on my phone for 12:20 every weekday, and forced myself to tackle one thing at a time during my lunch breaks.

Just do one thing. Not everything.

It worked. Its not a coincidence on the timing of everything coming together either.

You know when those terrific Midwest thunderstorms come through? Sporadic, with charcoal clouds. The temperature drops, the winds kick in and huge raindrops fall. So big it sounds like hail. It pours for just a little while, catching so many helpless people trying to sprint to their cars without umbrellas. They are soaked. Gutters can’t keep up with the water, and entire parking lots are turned into pools. In the midst of the shower, the sun is out.

I have that feeling when it’s raining and the sun is shining.

My storm is finally breaking. Life has continued to move forward and I’m already helping friends with their storms. It’s an indescribable feeling, but it makes me so excited to embrace it. To run back out into the world barefoot with whatever clothes I have on, look up at the sun and laugh.

Author: Clarissa A.

The older I get, the less I know.

1 thought on “The last day of starting over”

  1. One of my favorite quotes, “I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life in three little words…. ‘it goes on.'”

Leave a Reply

