Bad people vs. bad decisions


I had my first Czech Days outing this weekend. Overall, the weekend was a lot of fun. I got to spend time with friends, got some sun, and got to experience somethings outside of my normal routine.

One of my favorite parts of going to these types of outings is the openness and friendliness of people. It reminds me of Husker games days – everyone is happy to see anyone, and the spirit of love for people is evident.

Every once in a while, I run into a person who genuinely connects with my personality. It’s hard to describe, but it as just an instant and honest compassion and trust. Maybe I am just odd and this doesn’t happen to everyone, but it is very comforting to know that there are strangers who can care for other people in an instant. It’s a a driving force, and reminds me that not all people are “clean slates”. God adds tiny bits of himself in people before we meet them, to help us all support each other.

I spent probably two hours talking to an individual. He told me a lot of things he had been struggling with over the last couple years. Ways his family had been torn apart. I honestly do think that I was one of the few people that he had been so open about it with. We ended the conversation by me reassuring him “you are a good person,” he responded, “I really don’t think I am.”

So, what is the difference between a bad person, and a good person that makes bad choices? And why do many people think they are less than they really are? I had a conversation with another person, who I can say is probably the most composed 30-something I know. He made comment about “I have to make something of myself someday.” In an article I read comparing cultural differences, American females are the most timid and hardest to accept compliments.

I will say again, that I honestly believe that the majority of people are good, and when given the opportunity, will do what is best in the situation.

I think the driving force to someone making a bad choice is acting out of self interest. It happens, and we are humans. If bad decision is made while knowing they will hurt someone, that is nearing a bad person.

I can’t say this without considering my life the last year and acknowledging relationships are the exception. In no way should some one not act honestly if it isn’t what they want. Maybe that’s why some people stay away from relationships; they don’t want to hurt someone. Maybe they don’t like thinking there is any except to making decisions that otherwise reflect a bad person.

So, then do most relationships either result in someone feeling like a bad person, or being hurt? Yikes.

Author: Clarissa A.

The older I get, the less I know.

Leave a Reply

