A Day in the Life – Part 2

This week I completed round three. 25% done. 9 treatments remain – already down to single digits.

I haven’t yet reached the point on my calendar where I will start counting down days.

Honestly, it hasn’t been too bad. The worst part is the hot flashes that wake me up a couple times per hour every night. Blankets on, blankets off. I’m not sure if my fatigue is cause by the lack of a full-night sleep or the chemo, but I usually spend one day a week just sleeping after. The other days during my recovery week are just foggy. Off the top of my head, I can’t even tell you how many days have passed since my last treatment. I’m just foggy, everything blurs.

My next round will be done in Lincoln, which I’m very excited about. It will be done on a Thursday (not Tuesday). I’m hoping this will allow me to live more ‘normally’ – I can still work almost two full weeks, then crash on the weekend and be up and ready for Monday again.

My benefit was last week, and had a great time. I can’t explain how much all the people who showed up meant, and all the generosity that was shown. Thank you! We found out at the end of the night that the wrist bands came in different sizes. Let me know if you need to swap. We still have a ton!

BHC (Big Head Claire) ended up in a car headed to Omaha. So, instead of BHC being carted around to where I should be when I’m out, I decided to take her where I actually go on treatment days. Enjoy!

My appointments are generally early in the morning so I can meet with my oncologist first. Often I drive to Omaha from Lincoln the morning of, but this week I was already in Omaha. We arrived a little late, so our time in the waiting room was short!
Photo Aug 20, 9 26 37 AM

First up is vitals. Any time I see a doctor or nurse they take my temperature and blood pressure.
Photo Aug 20, 9 29 48 AM

Next, I’m taken to my room and patiently await my nurse and oncologist.
Photo Aug 20, 9 35 09 AM

Generally, we discuss side-effects from the last treatment and talk about any questions I’ve thought of. *I asked my oncologist to stethoscope my head, but she said that would be ridiculous because you can only stethoscope lungs, which BHC doesn’t have. So she just posed with her.*
Photo Aug 20, 10 08 33 AM

Next up: more waiting rooms. Generally, we get stuck here longer. I have to wait for a room and a nurse to have availability open, regardless of what time my appointment is for.
Photo Aug 20, 10 50 11 AM

A couple different professionals parade through my room. This friendly chap is the pharmacist. He puts happy face stickers on everything he processes.
Photo Aug 20, 11 37 32 AM

Soon enough I get ‘plugged-in’. A saline flush, followed by nausea meds, and then the big guns. This week they also gave me a supplemental flush of fluids, just in case I was getting dehydrated. Total time plugged-in: approx. 2.5 hours.
Photo Aug 20, 12 02 20 PM

Before my bags run out, the home care team from Walgreen’s shows up to get my 46-hour drip (Fernando) ready to go. Any time chemo is being hooked up or un-hooked, the staff is required to dress like this to prevent chemo burns on the skin.
Photo Aug 20, 2 12 53 PM

Soon enough I’m rocking Fernando and free to go about my business.  My cold sensitivity hits almost immediately, but there is generally a 24-hour lag before the chemo drugs really hit me and knock me out. The following week I’m feeling almost back to 100%, but by the time I have my blood work ran the Friday before my white blood cells have taken a huge hit. They will recover, just in time to start another round!
Photo Aug 20, 9 39 52 PM

Author: Clarissa A.

The older I get, the less I know.

3 thoughts on “A Day in the Life – Part 2”

  1. Loved your post! Claire your acceptance, positive attitude, self respect and love of life has helped you tremendously with all the challenges you have faced. Keep on and lean on us when you need to…we are here for you! Love ya – Mom

  2. Thanks for sharing Claire. You are such an inspiration. Grandpa and I enjoyed reading your blog and felt much better hearing how well you are doing handling this whole situation. We know it must be tough and you are handling it with such grace and humor. LOVE you sweetheart.

Leave a Reply

