The next couple weeks

Just wanted to give everyone an update. I finished my fifth round of chemo this week and am currently debating spending my Friday night on my parents couch watching a mix of How I Met Your Mother and Freaks and Geeks, or going out and spending some time with friends. This couch is looking at some pretty good odds. Warm, comfy and I have Gatorade and fresh cookies close. Tonight’s theme seems to be ‘life is good.’

Treatment this week was routine for the most part. The latest weird side effect was in my hands. All the creases in my palms became very bright red and sore. It hurt to move them. Today the pain is gone, but all the creases remain darkened. I’m finding myself beginning to rely on a series of vitamins for my cures. It could be worse.

I’m looking forward to the next couple weeks. A bachelorette party, wedding, getting halfway through my treatments, another Husker football game… The following week I’m heading to New Mexico to see my sister, her girlfriend and her girlfriends sister.

They have been a huge support system through all this, and I feel like they’re my second family even though I only know my sisters girlfriend in person. I’m very excited.

The week I get back from santa fe I’m having my first check up ct scan. I’m already nervous about it. They basically are checking to make sure the chemo is working and cancer hasn’t started elsewhere. Yes, some people’s bodies don’t ‘take’ chemo and the cancer progresses despite treatments. I have faith I’m fine.

I’m sure the 24 hours between the scan and the results will be hell.

Then chemo. The October is already half over.

Just waiting for time to pass…

Author: Clarissa A.

The older I get, the less I know.

2 thoughts on “The next couple weeks”

  1. Can’t wait for you guys to come to Santa Fe! We’ll try to keep you occupied so you don’t fret too much about your upcoming scan…. Glad you are keeping yourself busy and enjoying life as much as you can through all of this.

Leave a Reply

