Good-Bye 2015

It’s a little late, but I like to spend some time really thinking through all the experiences that happened in the past year as it closes. I love this practice. It’s incredible how many good things fit into 365 days, but it’s so easy to lose track of some, especially when not all of them can be remembered through photos.

Thanks, everyone, for another year of fun and love!

 

JANUARY2015-01-07 09.16.15

  • The first of the year 2015, I still had a chest port in. When my scans came in clear, I prepared myself for surgery to have it removed, completing the final step to returning my life to normal.
  • Just one week later, I became ordained and had the honor of legally wedding two of my very good friends.
  • Toward 2015-01-31 14.55.53the end of January I introduced a small group to the Slowdown concert venue in Omaha, a great show by the Cold War Kids!
  • I rounded out January by again attending the duck races. One of Blake’s good friends from Chicago drove in for the event.

 

FEBRUARYIMG_4872

  • The beginning of February, I boarded with my parents on a  7-day cruise down the coast of Mexico, stopping in Cozumel, Belize, and the Cayman Islands. We did a lot of activities – swimming with dolphins, exploring ancient ruins, snorkeling beaches, – I got to check of a bucket list item and held a baby sea turtle! One of my favorite things was waking up every morning to room service coffee, and watching the sun come up over the ocean from our room balcony.2015-02-22 10.11.11-1
  • My gift to Blake last year was ‘adopting’ the red pandas at the Lincoln Zoo. At the end of February, him and I attended a personal meet and great with them!
  • One HUGE goal I accomplished was paying of my student loans. Now on to my mortgage!

 

MARCH

  • I was inspired after attending an acoustic Jason Mraz show at the Orpheum with Nina. I soon after, I adopted his album title as my motto for 2015 – YES!
  • Blake and I took a shot at starting our garden vegetables inside. 2015-03-28 12.52.51-1While they produced little, I loved my little plant babies to the point I put a heating pad on them.
  • I said farewell to winter while down in Kansas City with Zach and my brother’s family. I found my new favorite brewery on this trip – the Weston Brewery, which also houses the world’s largest ball of string.

 

APRIL

  • I celebrated accepting a new job. While it was a difficult decision, I looked forward to a new challenge in my career.2015-05-25 19.33.17
  • Zamboni fiasco.
  • Between jobs, I took just a handful of days to repaint my house. Despite a few rain delays, with help from Blake and his parents, I finished it on time.

 

MAY 

  • 2015-06-17 20.18.37-2Blake and I created a vegetable garden. It took several weekends of ripping out existing landscape, renting a sod cutter, cutting and staining fenceposts, and preparing soil.
  • I spent a weekend visiting with my Aunt Indigo from Arcata, CA and my Aunt Julie from Fayetteville, AR. We spent time looking at art galleries and sipping coffee in downtown Omaha.
  • At the end of May, I volunteered at the Tour de Cure for diabetes in Ashland. I was so grateful to be able to help a friend who had helped me so much!

 

JUNE

2015-06-20 10.19.52.jpg

  • A small group of former coworkers road tripped down to Starkville, MI to celebrate Sarah getting married. We stopped at so many roadside attractions along the way!2015-06-13 14.38.53 HDR-2-edit
  • My good friend Neil married his match, and Blake and I attended their beautiful events! Suzanne and Mike, who I wed in January, also officially hosted their celebratory reception. June was the month of love!
  • Ironically, I visited the Sheldon Art Gallery only after I stopped working at the University. Hot temperatures shortened Blake and my outing and we instead lunched downtown.Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 8.28.37 AM
  • My friend Jenny turned 30! She invited me along on her celebration of touring vineyards in the area.

 

JULY

  • 2015-07-18 11.14.33I walked the halls of Millard South for our 10-year high school reunion. I was mostly interested in seeing the building and how it’s changed in 10 years. I found out that not much has!
  • 2015-07-10 08.19.11My friend Amanda invited myself and my mother along for a mother-daughter kayak trip down the Loop River. I fell in love and bought my own later this month!

 

AUGUST2015-08-27 06.18.52

  • I went on my first Swanson Russell work trip to Providence, RI. Because the trip was short, I woke up early to see as much of the town as I could before heading home.
  • The group that celebrated in Starkville gathered one last time for lunch before bidding Sarah goodbye as she moved to Seattle to pursue advancing her degree.
  • 2015-08-29 11.47.31-edit.jpgThe end of August was spent in Kansas City visiting Austin, Katy and Charlotte. We stopped at the world’s largest baseball, the Weston Brewery, and played Top Golf.

 

SEPTEMBER 

  • 2015-09-22 12.56.00I spent most of September doing things I love – kayaking on the weekends, biking to work, and I even found my favorite tree to eat lunch under during week days.
  • The Hozier concert at Pioneers Park was spectacular. What made it better was rocking out with so many people close to me.
  • I traveled to Dallas to see my cousin Kelsey 2015-09-05 12.15.10and meet her fiancé Brent. We had so much fun eating a ton of food, visiting breweries, walking public gardens, and doing many things Texany.

 

OCTOBERIMG_6304.JPG

  • Zach and I visited our friend Nick in Boston. We explored the city, drove out to the very tip and spent the day in Providence Town, went whale watching, had our Tarot Cards read in Salem, and ate lots of seafood!2015-10-05 12.26.59
  • My father and I spent my blood work day exploring Omaha. We took a cold tour through Laurentzin Gardens, and stopped at the chapel overlooking the interstate.
  • Blake and I drove to Nebraska City and walked the Tree Adventure. We (I) hope to evolve this day into an ongoing blog/website. Stay tuned!
  • I completed by Nebraska Master Naturalist core training. I had been looking forward to this since the beginning of the year.

 

NOVEMBERFullSizeRender

  • Took my parents and Blake to the annual Husker game. It ended up being the comeback game of the season! I also went to a couple basketball games with Aunt Margie.
  • I hit a second financial goal of the year: building my emergency fund to the minimum of the standard 3-months of savings.
  • My brother and his family hosted a great thanksgiving. I saw much of my family I see once a year if lucky. It was great to spend so much time with everyone!

 

DECEMBER

  • I watched the Husker Volleyball team play at home in the sweet 16, before they went on to win the national championship.
  • Preparing for Christmas was very relaxing this year. Everything from decorating to find gifts was much more enjoyable. I spent a lot of time during the holiday reading and putting my mind at ease.
Author: Clarissa A.

The older I get, the less I know.

1 thought on “Good-Bye 2015”

Leave a Reply

